Plykit vs KDP Coloring Book Studio: Which KDP Tool Should You Use in 2026?
Both tools generate coloring book interiors and a full-wrap cover PDF for Amazon KDP, and both export at 300 DPI. The gap between them is narrower than either marketing page suggests in some places and much wider in one: trim sizes. Everything stated about KDP Coloring Book Studio below was checked against kdpcoloringbook.com on 2026-09-20, and where their site does not state something, this says so rather than guessing.
Feature Comparison
| Feature | Plykit | KDP Coloring Book Studio |
|---|---|---|
| KDP trim sizes | 16 | 8.5 x 8.5 in only — it is the single size stated across their site |
| Full wrap cover (back + spine + front) | Yes — single print-ready PDF | Yes — "front + spine + back PDF, ready to upload to Amazon KDP" |
| Spine width auto-calculated | Yes — page count x paper caliper, per paper type | Not stated on their site (their blog describes spine width changing with page count as a KDP rule; paper type is not mentioned anywhere on the site) |
| Same character across every interior page | Yes — lock one character, every page is generated against it | Not stated on their site — they describe keeping "the same visual direction across the book", which is style rather than character |
| Reads your official KDP cover template | Yes — upload the template and true dimensions are read from the file, including its real 600 DPI | Not stated on their site ("templates" there refers to their own style presets) |
| Interior export | 300 DPI PDF, KDP gutter margin applied | 300 DPI black-and-white line art |
| Bleed | 0.125 in | Bleed is mentioned, no measurement stated |
| Gutter (binding margin) | Applied to the interior PDF | Not stated on their site — they state safe-zone exports, described in terms of trimming rather than binding |
| Spine text rule | Spine text only above 79 pages, enforced automatically | Not stated on their site |
| Pages per book | No stated cap | 5 to 60 pages, per their MCP documentation |
| Free tier | 5 credits on signup, plus 15 more the first time you open the KDP studio. No watermark. | One free book up to 6 pages, watermarked, no credit card |
| Pricing | $9.90 / $29.90 / $79.90 per month | $7 per week, or $29 / $49 per month. No annual plan stated. |
| Unusual capability | Covers and interiors share one workflow, so the cover uses the character from the pages | A public MCP server, so an AI agent can price and order a book programmatically |
Strengths & Advantages
Plykit Strengths
- ✓16 KDP trim sizes against one — if your book is not 8.5 x 8.5 in, this is the whole decision
- ✓Lock one character and it holds across every interior page
- ✓Upload the official KDP cover template and the real dimensions are read off the file
- ✓Gutter margin and the 79-page spine text rule are handled in the export
- ✓No watermark on the free credits
KDP Coloring Book Studio Strengths
- ✓Purpose-built for coloring books rather than a general visual tool with a KDP section
- ✓A $7 weekly plan, which is the cheapest way to test a single book of anyone compared here
- ✓A free book up to 6 pages without a card, which is a lower-friction trial than credits
- ✓Front matter and A+ content modules are priced as separate small jobs
- ✓A public MCP server — the only tool checked that lets an agent quote and place an order
Our Verdict
If your coloring book is 8.5 x 8.5 in, this is a close call and their weekly plan is the cheaper way to try the idea. If it is any other trim size, their site states only the one, and that settles it. The other real difference is character: Plykit locks a character across every page, while their site describes keeping a consistent visual direction, which holds the look but not the character. On the print mechanics buyers check first — wrap PDF, 300 DPI — the two are equivalent. One caution that applies to both of us: their marketing pages say you own 100% of commercial rights, but their terms of service contain no clause covering the output, so treat that as a claim on their site rather than something written into the contract.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which trim sizes does each tool support?▼
Plykit supports the 16 KDP trim sizes. KDP Coloring Book Studio states one size, 8.5 x 8.5 in, consistently across their site — their covers are described as "sized exactly for Amazon KDP 8.5x8.5 paperbacks". If your book is 6 x 9 or 8.5 x 11, that is the deciding fact.
Do either of them keep the same character on every page?▼
Plykit does: you lock one character and every subsequent page is generated against that image rather than from the prompt alone. Their site does not state character consistency; it states consistent visual direction and style, which keeps the look but not the character. Across the ten KDP tools checked in September 2026, eight describe style consistency only and one other tool states character consistency.
Which is cheaper?▼
It depends on how you buy. Their $7 weekly plan is the cheapest entry point of any tool compared here, and their monthly plans are $29 and $49 against Plykit at $9.90, $29.90 and $79.90. Compare on credits against how many pages you actually produce, since both price on generation.
What about gutter margins and spine text?▼
Plykit applies the KDP gutter margin to the interior PDF and only places spine text above 79 pages, which is the threshold below which KDP will not print it. Their site does not state either. They do state safe-zone exports, but describe them in terms of trimming rather than binding.
Can I trust the commercial rights claim?▼
Read both sets of terms yourself. Their marketing pages state you own 100% of the commercial rights to what you make, but their terms of service do not contain a clause covering generated output — the rights section covers the material you supply. Plykit includes a commercial license on every plan including Free, stated in our terms. This is worth two minutes of your time whichever tool you pick.