Plykit vs KDP Easy: Which KDP Tool Should You Use in 2026?
Both tools build print-ready Amazon KDP covers and coloring book interiors, and on the things most buyers check first — full-wrap PDF, automatic spine width, 300 DPI, 0.125 in bleed, all 16 KDP trim sizes — they land in the same place. The differences are narrower and more specific than either marketing page suggests, so this compares the specs that actually differ. Everything stated about KDP Easy below was checked against kdpeasy.com on 2026-09-20; where their site does not state something, this says so rather than guessing.
Feature Comparison
| Feature | Plykit | KDP Easy |
|---|---|---|
| Full wrap cover (back + spine + front) | Yes — single print-ready PDF | Yes — full-wrap PDF |
| Spine width auto-calculated | Yes — page count x paper caliper, per paper type | Yes — page count and paper type |
| Reads your official KDP cover template | Yes — upload the template and true dimensions are read from the file (including its real DPI, which is 600 not 300) | Not stated on their site |
| Same character across every interior page | Yes — lock one character, every page is generated against it | Not stated on their site (style consistency is described, character locking is not) |
| KDP trim sizes | 16 | 16 |
| Interior export | 300 DPI PDF, KDP gutter margin applied | 300+ DPI, interior PDF at your chosen trim |
| Bleed | 0.125 in | 0.125 in |
| Spine text rule | Spine text only above 79 pages, enforced automatically (KDP will not print it below that) | Not stated on their site |
| Free tier | 5 credits on signup, plus 15 more the first time you open the KDP studio | First cover free, no card required |
| Pricing | $9.90 / $29.90 / $79.90 per month | $19 / $49 / $79 per month, two months free on annual |
| Also does | General AI image generation, editing, background removal, video | KDP-focused tooling including a royalty calculator |
Strengths & Advantages
Plykit Strengths
- ✓Lock one character and it holds across all 30-50 interior pages — KDP Easy does not state this; of ten KDP tools checked, only ColoringBook AI also claims it
- ✓Upload the official KDP cover template and the real dimensions are read off the file, including its actual 600 DPI
- ✓Enforces the 79-page spine text rule so KDP does not silently drop your spine copy
- ✓Entry plan is $9.90/month, the lowest of the tools compared
- ✓Covers and interiors live in the same workflow, so the cover uses the character from the pages
KDP Easy Strengths
- ✓Purpose-built for KDP rather than a general visual tool with a KDP section
- ✓First cover free with no card, which is a lower-friction trial than credits
- ✓All 16 KDP trim sizes, and their site documents each one on its own page
- ✓States CMYK-ready 300 DPI output explicitly
- ✓Runs a 20% affiliate programme if you publish about KDP tools
Our Verdict
If your book has a recurring character — a coloring book, a childrens book, any illustrated series — Plykit is worth trying, because locking that character across every page is something KDP Easy does not describe. Be aware one other tool does: ColoringBook AI states character consistency plainly, so if that is your only requirement, compare the two of us rather than taking this page as the last word. Where we differ from them is the print side — their site does not state trim sizes, DPI, bleed or spine handling, and their KDP export sits on the $27.99 tier. If you want a tool that does nothing but KDP and you value a free first cover over a free credit balance, KDP Easy is a reasonable choice and cheaper to evaluate. On the print mechanics both buyers usually compare first — wrap PDF, spine width, 300 DPI, bleed, 16 trim sizes — Plykit and KDP Easy are genuinely equivalent, and anyone telling you otherwise has not checked.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Plykit keep the same character on every page of a coloring book?▼
Yes. You generate a few candidate characters, lock one, and every page after that is generated against the locked image rather than from the prompt alone, so the same character appears in each scene. Of the ten KDP tools checked in September 2026, eight describe only style consistency — which keeps the look but not the character — and one, ColoringBook AI, states character consistency as we do. KDP Easy is in the first group.
Can either tool read my KDP cover template?▼
Plykit can: upload the template Amazon generates for your book and the real trim, spine and bleed are read from the file. That matters because KDP ships those templates at 600 DPI, so anything assuming 300 comes out at double size. KDP Easy does not state this capability on their site.
Which is cheaper?▼
Plykit starts at $9.90/month against $19/month for KDP Easy, and KDP Easy offers two months free on annual billing. The honest answer depends on volume — compare credits per month against how many covers and pages you actually produce, because both price on generation rather than seats.
Do both produce files Amazon will accept?▼
Yes. Both export print-ready PDFs at 300 DPI with 0.125 in bleed and support the KDP trim sizes, and both calculate spine width from page count. This part of the category is settled; it is not where the tools differ.
What does Plykit do that is not about KDP?▼
General image generation and editing, background removal, upscaling and AI video. That breadth is a downside if you only publish books and want a focused tool, and an upside if the same subscription also covers your marketing images.