Plykit vs ColoringBook AI: Which KDP Tool Should You Use in 2026?

This is the closest comparison on this site, and the only one where a competitor makes the same core claim we do. ColoringBook AI states character consistency plainly — their product page headline promises "a flowing story and consistent characters", and a dedicated feature block says your main character "maintains the exact same look on every single coloring page". That is the same capability, described the same way, and this page is not going to pretend otherwise. The differences are on the print side, and in what each tool leaves unstated. Everything about ColoringBook AI below was checked against coloringbook.ai on 2026-09-20; where their site does not state something, this says so rather than guessing.

Feature Comparison

Same character across every interior page
Plykit
Yes — lock one character, every page is generated against it
ColoringBook AI
Yes — "maintains the exact same look on every single coloring page", with a character turnaround step in their flow
Genuinely a tie, and the only tie of its kind in this category
KDP trim sizes
Plykit
16
ColoringBook AI
Not stated on their site — no trim size is named anywhere, including in their KDP Builder description
Plykit
Interior export DPI
Plykit
300 DPI PDF
ColoringBook AI
Not stated on their site — they publish pixel dimensions instead: 687 x 1024 px standard, 2748 x 4096 px with upscaling enabled
Bleed
Plykit
0.125 in
ColoringBook AI
Not stated on their site
Gutter (binding margin)
Plykit
Applied to the interior PDF
ColoringBook AI
Not stated on their site — their KDP Builder states "safe margins", which is not described as binding-specific
Full wrap cover (back + spine + front)
Plykit
Yes — single print-ready PDF
ColoringBook AI
Not stated on their site — their tool list has no cover generator, and their KDP Builder description covers the interior
Plykit
Spine width auto-calculated
Plykit
Yes — page count x paper caliper, per paper type
ColoringBook AI
Not stated on their site
Spine text rule
Plykit
Spine text only above 79 pages, enforced automatically
ColoringBook AI
Not stated on their site
Reads your official KDP cover template
Plykit
Yes — upload the template and true dimensions are read from the file, including its real 600 DPI
ColoringBook AI
Not stated on their site
Pages per book
Plykit
No stated cap
ColoringBook AI
Up to 10 on Starter and Hobby; up to 200 on Professional and above
KDP export
Plykit
Included on every plan, including the free credits
ColoringBook AI
Their KDP Builder is listed on Professional ($27.99) and Business; the Starter and Hobby rows show it struck through
Plykit — KDP output is not gated behind a tier
Commercial licence
Plykit
Included on every plan, including Free
ColoringBook AI
Personal use on Starter and Hobby; commercial use from Professional ($27.99)
Free tier
Plykit
5 credits on signup, plus 15 more the first time you open the KDP studio
ColoringBook AI
4 credits per month
Pricing
Plykit
$9.90 / $29.90 / $79.90 per month
ColoringBook AI
$6.99 / $13.99 / $27.99 / $69.99 per month, with annual pricing at 12x the monthly rate

Strengths & Advantages

Plykit Strengths

  • The print specifications are published: 16 trim sizes, 300 DPI, 0.125 in bleed, gutter applied, spine width calculated
  • Full-wrap cover and interior come from the same tool, so the cover uses the character from the pages
  • Commercial licence and KDP export on every plan, including the free credits
  • Reads the official KDP cover template for true dimensions

ColoringBook AI Strengths

  • Locks a character across the book, which almost nothing else in this category states
  • Character turnaround sheets — you pick from generated front, side and back views before the pages are made
  • Cheaper at the entry tier: $6.99 against $9.90
  • Books up to 200 pages on their Professional plan
  • A genuinely coloring-book-first product rather than a general tool with a KDP section

Our Verdict

If character consistency is your only requirement, try both — theirs is real, and at $6.99 it is cheaper to evaluate. The case for Plykit is what happens after the pages exist. A KDP coloring book is not just 30 consistent drawings; it is a file that has to clear Amazon's checks, and their site does not state a trim size, a DPI figure, a bleed measurement, gutter handling, spine width, or a cover generator. Ours are all published above, which is the only way you can check them before you buy. Two things to weigh regardless of which you pick: their KDP export and commercial licence both start at the $27.99 tier, so the $6.99 plan is for personal use and their cheaper tiers cap a book at 10 pages.

Try Plykit on NanoBanana →Visit ColoringBook AI

Frequently Asked Questions

Does ColoringBook AI really keep the same character across pages?

Their site states it clearly, in more than one place: the product headline promises consistent characters, a feature block states the main character "maintains the exact same look on every single coloring page", and their flow includes picking a character model from generated turnaround sheets. We have not run their product, so this is what their site claims rather than a test result — but it is a specific claim with a described mechanism, not marketing vagueness.

So what is actually different?

The print layer. Across their site there is no stated trim size, no DPI figure, no bleed measurement, no gutter handling, no spine width calculation and no cover generator — their tool list does not include one. Plykit publishes all of those. If you are printing on Amazon, those are the specifications that decide whether your file is accepted, and you should be able to check them before paying.

Which is cheaper?

Their entry plan is $6.99 against our $9.90, so they are cheaper to start. But their KDP Builder and their commercial licence both begin at $27.99, and their two cheapest plans cap a book at 10 pages. If you intend to sell the book, compare our $9.90 against their $27.99 rather than their headline.

One figure on their site looks wrong — should I worry?

Their FAQ describes the standard output as a 3:2 ratio and then gives it as 687 x 1024 px, which is closer to 2:3. It is the kind of small inconsistency every site accumulates and we mention it only because you may be sizing a book around it. Check the actual output before committing to a trim size.

Why does this page concede so much?

Because the alternative is being wrong in public. An earlier version of our comparison copy treated character consistency as something no competitor offered. Checking ten competitors first-hand in September 2026 showed ColoringBook AI states it in their product headline, so we corrected the copy and wrote this page. A comparison that only works if you do not check it is worth nothing to you and is a liability for us.

Related Comparisons